Here's why you should go for a Tier-4 Data Center

Rated 4 datacenters are the safest place for your organization's data and hardware as they are built to withstand earthquakes, floods, fires, and have several physical security zones. The Rated 4 standard ensures that the datacenter provides the highest level of security, integrity and redundancy available in the datacenter solutions industry.

Data centers are classified into 4 tiers on the basis of several performance criteria:
  • Tier-1: A guarantee of 99.671% availability (28.8 hours of downtime per year)
  • Tier-2: A guarantee of 99.749% availability (22 hours of downtime per year)
  • Tier-3: A guarantee of 99.982% availability (1.6 hours of downtime per year)
  • Tier-4: A guarantee of 99.995% availability (only 26.28 minutes of downtime per year)
While most datacenters in India are rated at Tier 3 or below it, CtrlS has only Rated 4 datacenters, which present a whole new paradigm of reliability. The comparison table below explains why.

Certifying Data Centers
Datacenters are certified as Tier 3 or Rated 4 by certifying bodies like TIA and Uptime. A TIA certified datacenter is inspected on close to 1,800 parameters, some of them being the datacenter's design, the engineering design, the history of natural calamities that have occurred in the datacenter's location, the cabling and even greenhouse gas emissions. It is after a multitude of checks that a datacenter is certified with a Rated 4 rating. There are several Tier 3 datacenters in the market today that incorrectly advertise themselves as 'Rated 4 Ready' which means that they have implemented the standards but these facilities have not gone through the microscopic inspection of a certifying agency yet which will validate that every standard and benchmark has been met and passed.

As little as a few years ago, the opinion was that a Tier 3 datacenter was good enough for most use case scenarios. This opinion was driven by companies from developed countries like the US and Europe where the utilities like power and water are dependable and there is hardly any downtime. In India however, power cuts are frequent and water shortage is the norm rather than the exception. How can a Tier 3 datacenter deliver the same uptime in India as in western countries? It just isn't possible.

Redundancy is what separates Tier 3 from Rated 4. Tier 3 is a 'single system' and Rated 4 is a 'system + system'. Rated 4 datacenters have all the resources that Tier 3 datacenters do but with redundancy, which means that they actually have 2 or 3 times the resources where one or more sources of power, internet connectivity, cooling and other essentials are purely for back up. Building structures in Rated 4 datacenters are also much more robust and security features are much better.

If your applications are mission critical, and your company stands to lose business because of even an hour's downtime, Rated 4 datacenters are your best bet. They are built to withstand earthquakes, floods, fires, and have several physical security zones to defend your data from human intrusions.


from our labs
  • Maximize Business Agility

    Business users know best when their applications will experience peak loads. CtrlS CLOUD enables business users to directly make resources available to their own applications, while restricting access to authorized application owners.

  • Our Unique Innovations

    • Disaster Recovery Services
    • Private cloud
    • Fresh air to minimize humidifier usage

more research